Tempting Cake Donuts

13 Jun

I have been craving donuts lately but I did not want to settle for the fried ones. So, I bought a set of donut pans and got busy baking to satisfy my sweet tooth.  For these donuts I used a basic cake recipe and cut back on the sugar and oil.

Wow!  These baked donuts turned out to be so delicious and I am quite proud of myself.  Hubby and I sat down to some good home-brewed coffee and freshly baked donuts.  Enjoy!

 
 
Cake Donut Recipe
2 cups all-purpose flour
1/4 cup sugar
1/4 tsp salt
2 1/4 tsp baking powder
2 large eggs (Or egg substitute) use 1/2 cup applesauce to replace eggs
3/4 cup skim milk (or soy, coconut or rice dream)
1/2 cup canola oil

 
lightly grease donut pans ( I have round and long john)
 
In large bowl mix dry ingredients
in med bowl whisk wet ingredients
make a well in the center of the dry ingredients and add the wet ingredients. Mix until combine. (batter will be a little lumpy)
 
 
Fill  baggie with cake mixture, cut the corner, squeeze mixture into donut slots.
 
 
 
 

Bake, rotating pans halfway for 10 -12 minutes or until lightly golden. Let cool.

photo by: Susan T’s Kitchen

Toppings

Chocolate topping: Melt semi sweet chocolate chips for chocolate topping. No double boiler no problem.  Just fill pot with water, insert a glass bowl, boil water and watch your chocolate melt.

No double boiler – no problem
Photo by: Susan T’s Kitchen

photo by: Susan T’s Kitchen

Sugar Topping: Fill bowl with sugar, coat donut with oil, roll in sugar mixture.

photo by: Susan T’s Kitchen

24 Responses to “Tempting Cake Donuts”

  1. susanbright July 7, 2012 at 9:35 pm #

    I have never seen donut pans! Very cool. The chocolate iced donuts look wonderful. If I made them I would want to eat the whole tray!

  2. Veggiewitch July 7, 2012 at 10:50 pm #

    OMGosh! What a wonderful post to discover! ♥
    Super-glad I found your blog.
    *happy dancing*

  3. Nurse Frugal July 9, 2012 at 1:20 am #

    Looks glorious and cheap!!! I must try 😉

  4. mylifeisthebestlife July 10, 2012 at 3:43 pm #

    Oooo! I’ve never tried baked donuts before…now I have to find a donut pan!

  5. The Hungry Mum July 15, 2012 at 12:37 am #

    These look incredible! I find donuts too fattty but I’ve tried baked ones before and they are *so* good!

  6. IHeartVegetables July 15, 2012 at 3:38 am #

    Yum!!! I got a little mini-doughnut maker ($5 through a groupon!) so I’m totally trying this recipe!

  7. Jorie July 16, 2012 at 5:44 am #

    This is awesome! Love a healthier alternative.

  8. Carmen ❤ July 17, 2012 at 10:19 pm #

    Yummm! I’ve never made donuts, maybe it’s time. Plus, it’s pretty much a guilt-free version.

    ❀ It’s Carmen

  9. Jimmy Cracked-Corn July 20, 2012 at 12:56 pm #

    I have to admit that I didn’t even know there was such a thing as a doughnut pan. Great! Thanks a lot! Now I want another one-use-item! 🙂

  10. Marcella Rousseau July 24, 2012 at 10:02 pm #

    Nice job with the donuts! Smart way to avoid frying them. Thanks for sharing!

  11. Promenade Claire July 25, 2012 at 6:11 am #

    Definitely tempting 🙂

  12. Eat-O-Live August 6, 2012 at 2:35 pm #

    Congrats!! I nominated you for the sunshine award and the very inspiring blogger award. Please visit my blog for more details.

  13. silverbells2012 August 25, 2012 at 8:48 am #

    So, that’s how you make donuts!!!

  14. Sybarite Sauvage September 8, 2012 at 4:00 pm #

    Unfortunately, WordPress does not have a “Love” button, so all I could do was give you a less than satisfying “Like”.

    How I Love donuts!

    Thanks!

  15. hilal achmar October 2, 2012 at 2:37 am #

    Cool….. and…. delicious…. Thank you for share….:)

  16. R Taylor November 8, 2012 at 2:06 pm #

    It really is tempting. I can pass on baking a cake this weekend and try your donut recipe instead 🙂 I’m pretty sure my kids would love this! And oh, my sister has that same donut pan 🙂

  17. joyfromyesterfood February 15, 2013 at 2:07 pm #

    Hi, Susan! I love baked donuts, and this recipe sounds fantastic! I love a treat that doesn’t make you feel like you need to go take a nap! LOL! Thank you! 🙂
    ~Joy @ Yesterfood

  18. LFFL July 9, 2013 at 9:42 am #

    The donuts look so good. I’ve never made donuts before.

  19. Susan T's Kitchen June 3, 2016 at 7:18 am #

    Reblogged this on Susan T's Kitchen and commented:

    June 3rd is National Donut Day!

Leave a Reply

