Did You Have Your Fruit Today?

6 Jul

Did you know Americans should include at least 2 cups of fruit per day in their diets? Examples are: Bananas, grapes, oranges, grapefruit, apples, melons, peaches, pineapples, strawberries.  This food group provides important sources of potassium, magnesium and fiber.  Fiber fills you up and provides needed energy. 

  • Grapefruit helps lower cholesterol.
  • Bananas helps to lower blood pressure, contains potassium.
  • Oranges contain vitamin C, potassium and is full of fiber.
  • Apples have fiber and vitamins and as the old saying goes “an apple a day keeps the doctor away.”
  • Berries contain needed vitamins and antioxidants.

photo by: Susan T’s Kitchen

Keep a dish on the kitchen counter to remind yourself to eat fruit everyday. 

photo by: Susan T’s Kitchen

I love this combination of oranges and grapefruit.  No need for sugar on the grapefruit because the oranges sweeten up the tartness of the grapefruit. squeeze fresh lemon juice over the fruit for added sweetness and vitamins!  Fruit is a wonderful addition to breakfast or as an afternoon pick-me-up! 

Follow me on Twitter and Facebook!

2 Responses to “Did You Have Your Fruit Today?”

  1. instillari July 6, 2012 at 1:34 am #

    I had my fruit today 🙂 Strawberries, raspberries, and a banana!

  2. pixilated2 July 8, 2012 at 3:58 pm #

    Do you find it hard to eat fruit in winter? I like to eat locally and don’t really care for canned fruits. I do find oranges and apples from the US. Bananas are just not grown here so I make them an exception to my rule, but otherwise it is a fresh fruit desert out there in winter. I am waiting for my berries to get established so that I can freeze them for winter… but that will be awhile. 😉 Thank you for visiting me today!
    ~ Lynda

Leave a Reply

